The Saigon Philharmonic

The Saigon Philharmonic is the resident orchestra of the Ho Chi Minh Conservatory of Music.


It was established in 2010 as the ASEAN Symphony Orchestra, making its debut at the 17th ASEAN Summit under the baton of renowned Japanese maestro Yoshikazu Fukumura under the auspices of the Ho Chi Minh Conservatory of Music and the Vietnam Ministry of Culture, Sports & Tourism.


The orchestra comprised local musicians of the Ho Chi Minh City Conservatory of Music, National Music Institute and Hue Music Institute, as well as 16 musicians from the region including Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. Thereafter, as the Ho Chi Minh Conservatory of Music Symphony Orchestra, it continued to present symphony and chamber music concerts with musicians from the Conservatory's faculty as well as freelance professional Vietnamese musicians living in Ho Chi Minh City. Under the leadership of its new Music Director Adrian Tan, the orchestra was renamed the Saigon Philharmonic Orchestra, and was officially relaunched at the opening concert of the 5th Southeast Asian Directors of Music (SEADOM) Congress in March 2013, heralding a new era in the orchestra's mission to enrich the cultural life of Ho Chi Minh City, and the people of Vietnam.